Wednesday Wanderings # 13 – Life In 3 Parts

This week Honey Darling had an interesting, sort of out-loud thought.  Having just passed another birthday recently it occurred to him that he has lived a life in almost exactly three parts so far.  He was 20 1/2 when he joined the military, he spent just over 20 years in the military and has been retired / a civilian again for just over 20 years.  Sort of funny, just a thought and we went on with our day, we are still in the middle of bathroom chaos.

Then the thought popped into my head again later.

I realized even though the “20-20-20” formula isn’t as precise for me the outcome is still the same.  One third of my life was before my husband.  One third was as a military wife and mother.  The next third, this part so far, is as a retired military wife and grandmother. It isn’t that I didn’t do my own thing, friends, jobs, stuff, it’s just that getting married, becoming a parent, and becoming a grandmother were all against the background of before, during and after the military with all it’s unique, quirky, sometimes slightly frustrating rules.

I’m not going to try to compare being single to being married or being a parent to being a grandparent.  I won’t generalize to say my life is like everyone else or gloss it over with a some good-some not story.

It’s a life, lived in every moment with the best effort I was able to produce at the time given the circumstances and my experiences up to that point.  What I will say is I hope the next 60 is at least as good, some better would be great and I’m looking forward to seeing what it brings me.

However, after almost 40 years of marriage to the same military man it would be nice to be able to get my military I.D. renewed this year on my own, just be able to stop by Pass and I.D. and get it done.  It’s just one of those things, he has to go with me.  At least this year I’m not having to rearrange my schedule for this every 4-year to-do item.

Oh well,  I’ll get Honey Darling to take me to lunch that day, we’ll be out together anyway.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

